Academic Calendar 2020-2021

The School will be closed on the following dates:

October Mid-term - 1 week: Monday 26th to Friday 30th October 2020

Christmas Holidays - 2 weeks: from Wednesday 23rd Dec 2020 to Tuesday 5th Jan 2021

February Mid-term - 1 Week: Monday 15th Feb to Friday 19th Feb 2021

St. Patrick’s Public Holiday -  Wednesday 17th March 2021

Easter Holidays - 2 weeks Monday 29th March to Friday 9th April 2021

May Holiday - Monday 3rd and Tuesday 4th May 2021

June Holiday - Monday 7th and Tuesday 8th June

Last day of school-year will be Wednesday 30th June 2021

 Download Calendar

Grotto Place, Booterstown, Co. Dublin A94 AC97
01-2886830
Saturday, June 12, 2021
01-2886830
8:50 - 14:30
  01-2886830

School News

Education and Parenting news stories of interest on Classes & Newsletters

Science experiment on sugary foods and drink.
img4813.jpg
On the last day before the Halloween break, the boys in sixth class carried out a science experiment which involved the prediction, measurement and evaluation of the amount of sugar present in a variety of food and drinks they consume.
In groups, they were given a guided discovery science experiment procedure, one item of food and one can/bottle of drink.
Each group had to estimate the amount of sugar contained in each of their items. After, using the food/drink label and their mathematical ability, they measured the true amount of sugar(grams) contained in the items and stored the sugar in freezer bags.
They also researched some important information about healthy diets and why too much sugar is dangerous for our health.
Finally, each group presented their results and food projects to the class. Some of the results really shocked the pupils, which prompted them to think about their food choices and sugar consumption. We all learned a lot of information about the sugar present in the food and drink we consume.

Process of the Investigation

img4799.jpg
img4802.jpg
img4803.jpg